Day 12 of 180 Days of Data Viz Learning #jfdi

I’m doing some form of data visualization learning for 180 days straight because I need to #JFDI.  See post explaining how and why I’m doing this.

Got to the point today in reviewing D3.js where I hit two familiar points.  First, I remember at Hackbright I’d think I understood something then dig deeper and realized I didn’t or realized I missed out on an entire concept entirely.  The second, I’ve gone from that mode where I just am absorbing information through tutorials like a sponge and just trying to keep it all together to realizing I need to dive deeper and play with and write my own code to keep learning.  It’s that all at once exciting yet overwhelming holy-crap-I-know-things-but-realize-I-need-MORE.

Also, time spent today was sparse because it’s moving mayhem time.

Visualization Worked On or Created: 

N/A Today  – > Focusing on the completing tutorial/exploration work (finishing Scott Murray’s book, D3.js in Udacity in Treehouse) that will be more mentally taxing when I’m working full-time.  Also, moving across the country this week.

Decomposition of a Visualization:

N/A Moving to NY on friday.

Code Learning:

Treehouse D3.js Adding Event Listeners to a D3.js Selection and Various Event Listeners Documentation

Three Takeaways

  • D3 allows you to add basically any event listener supported in your browser directly to a selection. You can use data bound to that element to the interaction different based on the data itself.
  • selection.on(type[, listener[, capture]])
    Adds or removes an event listener to each element in the current selection, for the specified type (eg. click, mouseover)
  • d3.event stores the current event, if any.

Reading and Learning Data Visualization Theoretically/Critically:

N/A today.  Moving to New York on Friday and had to pack/take care of things.

Leave a Reply

