Day 18 of Days of Data Visualization Learning #jfdi

I’m doing some form of data visualization learning for 180 days straight because I need to #JFDI.  See post explaining how and why I’m doing this.

Today is actually my first new day at my job in New York.  Went through some visualizations there looking for some easy wins and doings some server set-up work.  My plan is to shift gears into doing some of my own learning in the morning and days spent at work learning on the job and writing takeaways so I remember them in the long-run.

Three Takeaways From Today:

  • Gap between what is possible using algorithms and being able to explain a visual story of how they work and their analysis.
  • The gap between “out-of-box” visualization tools and more dynamic solutions such as D3.js -> how to bridge
  • Starting to have to think about schema for querying for visuals I want to write
Leave a Reply

