Day 51 of 180 Days of Data Viz #jfdi

I’m doing some form of data visualization learning for 180 days because I need to #JFDI.  See post explaining how and why I’m doing this.

Visualization Worked On or Created: 

Come to a realization that I’m not understanding some things – particularly formatting, as well as I thought, but I do understanding other topics, such as data munging, a lot better.

Attempt (without axes bc I can’t get them to scale correctly) at looking at Water Usage for the Fiscal 12/13 Year of Hundred Cubic Feet per LA City Zipcode

Code Learning:

Knight Journalism Course for the Americas:  Data Visualization and Infographics with D3! 

Three Takeways from Module 4 Scaling and Axes (covering topics I thought I knew well but apparently do not so just ret-typing for remembering).

  • The proper sequence of methods to use when binding data and creating new elements from data: .selectAll()data()(enter()append()
  • “Dom is current state of memory of a web page that can different from page’s source and CSS”
  • Ordinal Scales have a discrete domain, such as set of names or categories -> values must be coercible to a string, and the stringified version of the domain value uniquely identifies with the corresponding range value
    • + symbol means “take this value and use it as a number” after a return statement
Leave a Reply

